Kurt Vonnegut’s letter home after Dresden

Kurt Vonnegut really was a POW at Dresden during the firebombing. That part of Slaughterhouse-Five was true. And now we’re learning that we really can become ‘unstuck in time’ so that we can go back to WWII and read #12102964 Pfo Vonnegut’s letter home following that bombing campaign.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Kurt Vonnegut’s letter home after Dresden”

  1. James in Madison Says:

    It’s amazing to see how he has both the sarcasm and ambivalence about death that he would later have in Slaughterhouse Five. Yet, he also has a certain cheerfulness that I guess he lost as his memories of Dresden stayed with him. More evidence for why war’s casualties aren’t just on the battlefield. I feel like I need to read Slaughterhouse Five again after reading this…

  2. Corey - Freelance Writer Says:

    I’m so glad I stumbled across this page. Vonnegut is one of the main authors that inspired me to pick up my own pen and scribble down some verse on paper. I’m sad I never got to meet the man in person.

Leave a Reply

